Thomas Friedrich (1948 – 2012), founding member of EMoP. Carole Prat, City of Paris representative (2004-2008) EMoP is a Luxembourg registered non profit association (RC: F 9847 / Statutes ) grouping eight European institutions dealing with the visual arts (mainly photography). History: The European Month of Photography (EMoP) was initiated in 2004 by the Maison Européenne de la Photographie, Paris, and its director Jean-Luc Monterosso as a joint venture between European capitals hosting a photography festival with the aim to confront expertise in curatorial practice in photography and the intention to develop common projects, notably exhibitions, including exchange of information about the local photographers and artists concerned with photography. As founding members acted the Maison Européenne de la Photographie, Paris, the Cultural Departement of the City of Berlin (Museumspädagogischer Dienst Berlin headed by Thomas Friedrich ) and the Department for Cultural Affairs of the City of Vienna (director Bernhard Denscher). Those three members were subsequently joined by the Central European House of Photography, Bratislava, the Museum of Photography, Moscow, the association Zone Attive working for the City of Rome and Café-Crème asbl for Luxembourg. Whereas Moscow and Rome have left the network in the meantime, Photon Association, Ljubljana, and the Association of Hungarian Photographers in Budapest have joined the network in 2012. The Hellenic Center of Photography, Athens joined in 2014. Since 2004, representatives of these cities are meeting about three or four times a year to discuss common projects. Five exhibitions about the aesthetics and technical challenges met by contemporary photographers and artists have been organized each with a catalogue. The association’s initial website hosted first in Bratislava then in Paris from 2006 to 2012 is presently an archive of past activities. It will not be updated. . In order to develop further international cooperation in the field of photography, but also to promote essentially European emerging artists whose use of contemporary photography and image modification techniques sets them at the forefront of significant developments in image production and diffusion, it is the wish of the founding members to unite and build a European net. Therefore, beside the festivals in the participating cities, common curating and organisation of projects shall have top priority. Board members for 2015 -2017:

Thomas Licek

Thomas Licek

Jean-Luc Soret, Paris (MEP)

Jean-Luc Soret
Vice-President < br/> Paris

Stiwer Pierre Luxembourg ( Finances )

Pierre Stiwer

Oliver Baetz Controlling Berlin

Oliver Baetz

Other board members are:

Achleitner Gunda

Gunda Achleitner  Vienna

Michaela Bosaková curator, Bratislava

Michaela Bosaková

Miha Colner curator, Ljubljana

Miha Colner

Paul di Felice, curator, Luxembourg

Paul di Felice

Berthold Ecker Vienna
Berthold Ecker Vienna
Manolis Moresopoulos director, Athens Photo Festival
Manolis Moresopoulos
Sluga Dejan, Lubljana

Dejan Sluga

No pictures yet: Vaclav Macek (director, Central European House of Photography, Bratislava); Bohunka Koklesová (curator, Bratislava); Peter Baki (Director of the Hungarian Museum of Photography & President, Association of Hungarian Photographers, Budapest); Gabriella Uhl (curator, Budapest); Stavros Moresopoulos ( Director of Athens Fotofestival / Hellenic Center of Photography )